Cloth Diapers & Parenting Community - DiaperSwappers.com

Cloth Diapers & Parenting Community - DiaperSwappers.com (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/index.php)
-   Diaper Chatter and Q & A (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=10)
-   -   Is this an ammonia issue? Help! (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1487146)

akstien86 01-30-2013 08:11 PM

Is this an ammonia issue? Help!

Hi All. I am a newbie and have only been cding part time to get the hang of it, and until I finish my stash. I bought a few 'like new' diapers on diaperswappers, and a few new. Washed in rockin green and air dryed, they all smelled pretty good but a few have a lingering smell in the background. Specifically one like new (and it really does look like new) Bg 4.0 and some used babykicks hemp inserts.

Well the problem is after using that like new diaper/and or the hemp inserts I can barely walk in the room the smell is so bad. I was worried that's just how diapers smelled after 12 hours, but when I used a new bg and inserts there is no smell.

So long story short I re-washed (hemp seperate) in rocking green, hot water, pre rinse and extra rinse, and added vinegar to the hemp. Crossed my fingers that would work, but the same strong smell after using. Any ideas? thanks so much.

greencrunchymama 01-30-2013 08:23 PM

Re: Is this an ammonia issue? Help!

I'd use a stronger detergent and bleach them. After that, continue to use your new detergent. You can try Tide or Country Save-lots of mamas like those!

nonipie 01-30-2013 08:55 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by greencrunchymama (Post 16227755)
I'd use a stronger detergent and bleach them. After that, continue to use your new detergent. You can try Tide or Country Save-lots of mamas like those!

Yes this

Skybaby712 01-30-2013 09:04 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by greencrunchymama (Post 16227755)

Yes to this. I've read how lots have issues with Rockin Green.

akstien86 01-31-2013 05:31 AM