Cloth Diapers & Parenting Community - DiaperSwappers.com

Cloth Diapers & Parenting Community - DiaperSwappers.com (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/index.php)
-   Breastfeeding Support (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   Plesase Help - Need to Increase Supply asap (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1497399)

Mheagan 03-05-2013 12:04 PM

Plesase Help - Need to Increase Supply asap

I used to be an over producer.... I was freezing 6 - 9 oz a day. My little guy started solids about 3 months ago (He is 8 months now) and my supply took a nosedive, even though I was pumping the same number of times a day and he is STILL getting up 2-3x a night to nurse. Well since the begining of Feburary I have been sick almost constantly, and my supply has dropped to about 10 oz over 4 pumpings. I've had to start supplimenting which breaks my heart. I've been eating enough food (I am not losing weight) and drinking a ton of water. I HAVE to get my milk back up. My son is allergic to milk, peanuts and eggs so finding the "right" formula is hard, not to mention $$$$ . I can't take fenugeek because of the associations with peanuts (Dr gave me literature stating allergies to peanuts should not take it).

This is our typical schedule:

5:45 am - wake up & nurse
8 am - pump
10:15 - pump
12:30 - pump
3:15 - pump
5:30 - Nurse (this has been new the past couple of days)
6:45 - 7 ish - nurse to sleep
11:00 - nurse
2-3:00 - nurse

Any help, any suggestions are appreciated. I never had to go through this with DD, and I am not ready / don't want to give him formula.

Thanks!

TrennaII 03-05-2013 12:20 PM

Re: Plesase Help - Need to Increase Supply asap

Are you completely positive it's a supply issue? I had oversupply AND couldn't get anything at all out with a pump - even the fancy rental Medela - after awhile. Could it have anything to do with stress?