Cloth Diapers & Parenting Community - DiaperSwappers.com

Cloth Diapers & Parenting Community - DiaperSwappers.com (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/index.php)
-   Parenting Talk (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=12)
-   -   Anyone do Baby Sign Language? (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1510157)

junvwekt 04-20-2013 07:31 AM

Anyone do Baby Sign Language?

I am hearing & do not know ASL, but am interested in teaching my baby sign language so he can communicate before he learns to talk. Has anyone bought the kit from babysignlanguage.com? Do you think it would be a good kit for a total noob like me? :)

UVASahm 04-20-2013 07:37 AM

Re: Anyone do Baby Sign Language?

I haven't done a kit but you can get a book from the library for free and it will tell you a lot that are very helpful. Some of the signs that my son picked up first and use most often, all done, more, mama, milk, water, monkey (he likes the 5 little monkey son), eat. We are working on help, please, thank you, sorry.

I found we were doing lots of signs when he was young and then all of a sudden he started doing them back around a month ago. Good luck! It's very fun to see your little person do signs!

peep_erz 04-20-2013 07:42 AM

I have no experience with the kit but I have taught a little baby aign language and I loved it. I was 14yrs old when my youngest brother was born and my mom pretty much handed him off to me. As soon as he started babbling i would sign milk, more, please, and thank you whenever I said them. I also did the abc's, twinkle twinkle, and some youth group songs. I wasn't looking for full conversational vocab. Just simple things that he would need to communicate while he couldn't talk. I knew some signs from my friend who knows asl and the others i looked up online.

From my experience i dont think you need a special kit or anything. I even found some free iphone apps recently to brush up for my own baby.

PBAki 04-20-2013 07:57 AM