Reply Hey Mom! Learn more about the Gerber Life Insurance Grow-Up Plan!

Old 01-29-2013, 08:41 PM   #1
MomAshcraft
Registered Users
seller

My Mood:
Washing advice

My little one is one week old tomorrow. I am trying to patiently wait for her cord stump to fall off so I can start using our diapers :-)
I will be using prefolds and need some advice on how to wash them. I'm completely new to cd and need help
I have a top load washer. So what is a good wash routine to insure I'm getting the diapers clean.
Thanks so much for the help
MomAshcraft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 09:22 PM   #2
dncnshu00
Registered Users
seller

Start simple. Cold rinse, hot wash with detergent, extra rinse. You can get more eloborate from there but only if you find you need to.
dncnshu00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 09:39 PM   #3
abunchoflemons
Registered Users
sitesupporter
seller

My Mood:
Re: Washing advice

Friend with prefolds said I think regular wash, and add a rinse. I can't remember if a prewash or not. another whom I don't know washer type said 3 hrs to do several washes and rinses for no stinks. Depends on water type and detergent as well I think.

I have pockets and actually do well with presoak/wet pail with detergent and then regulatr cycle but as I am pregnant and have taken spills from my legs going out I just do rewash and regular cycle which is longer than a regular wash and add a rinse...not sure how that works but it is front load as well.
Old 01-29-2013, 09:40 PM   #4
nonipie
Registered Users
seller
seller

Yes that! Make sure you use enough detergent as well and don't be afraid of them. Prefolds are pretty difficult to ruin. You can also start CDing right now if you want. Simply fold the rise down and cover under the cord stump.

ISO:MM Optimus Prime, MM Time Lord and Supreme Dalek
nonipie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 09:54 PM   #5
simplykarenp
Registered Users
seller
seller

What she said!