Reply Hey Mom! Learn more about the Gerber Life Insurance Grow-Up Plan!

Old 04-16-2016, 07:54 PM   #1
cedavid2011
Registered Users
seller

Anyone here do Classical Conversations?

I have been homeschooling for 6 years, but am brand new to the classical method. I visited our local CC campus, which just started this past school year. I love the idea of it and need the schedule and accountability, and I know most of the other families that are using it. But the cost! I have 7 children, 6 of whom are old enough to be registered. Is it worth the price? Benefits/drawbacks? Any suggestions for doing it on my own?

Advertisement

Old 04-17-2016, 07:39 PM   #2
AZmommy
Registered Users
seller

Re: Anyone here do Classical Conversations?

My kids were briefly involved with Catholic schoolhouse which is modeled after Classical conversations but Catholic based. While I wanted it to work for us it just didn't. My oldest hated it it was such a struggle to get her to complete the requirements for CSH that her other studies greatly suffered. Plus it made our days drag on endlessly. My younger loved it but it was either too easy and kind of a waste or too much as they seem to insist on trying to teach things way beyond what she was capable of. (it assumed a wider age range but in my DD class it was just her at 5 and the directors little girl who just turned 3 and technically too young for either. So too me it was a waste of time trying to say explain square roots.
Both girls benefited from being around others and too a point having to listen to another teacher for a bit. Overall though for us the cons far out weighed the pros and it was not worth the price. I pulled my oldest from the program after Christmas and intended to have my youngest finish the year. However we haven't been since before spring break and are enjoying our weeks much more.

Deanna mom to Cecilia 10-26-02 and Margaret 3-8-10
AZmommy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2016, 10:41 PM   #3
vkier