Reply Hey Mom! Learn more about the Gerber Life Insurance Grow-Up Plan!

Old 12-03-2012, 12:30 PM   #1
sisterrez
Registered Users

Any moms out there with an irregular work schedule?

I'm a retail manager, so my hours are very irregular. Sometimes I work at 8am, other times it's 2 pm, and my days off are never the same. I've got a 4 month old baby, and my fiance stays at home with him. Due to my schedule, we've had a difficult time getting LO on any type of routine or schedule. Any ladies out there with a similar situation? How have you regulated LOs day? Hes in desperate need of a routine to help with naps, but my work schedule just seems to be in the way. Thoughts?

Advertisement

sisterrez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 11:29 AM   #2
ParamedicMama
Registered Users
Formerly: Rachel**t
seller
seller

Re: Any moms out there with an irregular work schedule?

Haha! There are three "shifts" where I work as a paramedic: 7:30am-4:30pm, 4:30pm-11pm, 11pm-7:30am. You generally work two to four of these IN A ROW. And yes, you are up and awake almost every time.

As far as routine goes, we finally moved in with my mom so the kids aren't bumped around so much with nights and stuff, plus I'm selling my house, so this was a lot easier during showings, etc.. I try to keep their routine the same whether I'm home or not, which means sometimes I don't see the kids for 36 hours straight because I leave before they're up and then I'm not home until they're in bed the next day or something.

My best advice is to grin and bear it and try to keep him on the same schedule whether you're there or not. They do a lot better this way! Thankfully, I'm really close to making a FT income with my at-home job. It'll be so much easier whe I can transition into that!

Be blessed. Don't be discouraged--it won't last forever.

Making an almost FT WAHM income--ASK ME if you want help doing the same!!!!
Life More Simply Blog