Reply Hey Mom! Learn more about the Gerber Life Insurance Grow-Up Plan!

Old 01-25-2013, 10:55 AM   #1
workingdiaperingmom
Registered Users

Going broke starting my stash

I've been attempting to start up my stash for the past 3 months, and I just got around to calculating how much I've actually spent, and it's come out to over $1000!!! =(

At first I thought I could do AIOs, but then discovered my son was sensitive to suedecloth =(

So after going to natural fibers and microfleece, I discovered that side snapping and waist elastic were the only types that didn't set off his reflux.

So after so much trial and error and trying out different diapers, I calculated how much I've actually spent on diapers, wet bags, and such, and it's come out to over $1000 =(

Am I the only one having to spend this kind of money? I thought cloth diapering was supposed to save me money =(

Advertisement

workingdiaperingmom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 11:28 AM   #2
nonipie
Registered Users
seller
seller

Re: Going broke starting my stash

Well it's like anything else baby relatated. You can spend as much or as little as you want. You can get a great, really effective stash for $250 or you can spend lots more as you have seen. I did not spend anywhere near what you did to start out but I certainly have after 6 years and 3 kids. Realistically though I caution against deciding on one type and then filling out a whole stash with it unless you are positive that it already works. Were you aat least able to sell any of it? In the long run it should even out especially if you plan on more children.

ISO:MM Optimus Prime, MM Time Lord and Supreme Dalek
nonipie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 12:05 PM   #3
workingdiaperingmom
Registered Users

Yes, it is true that start up costs can be high.