Reply Hey Mom! Learn more about the Gerber Life Insurance Grow-Up Plan!

Old 02-25-2013, 01:58 PM   #1
TypeAMom
Registered Users
Formerly: Di**ae
seller

My Mood:
How to Increase Confidence in Your Teaching Skills

Anyone know how to do this? I've taught my daughter to walk, talk, use utensils, sleep without a pacifier, sleep in a big kid bed, drink from an open-top cup, use the potty, etc., but I worry that I won't be as good as a professional teacher. I know that I care about her and her success more than anyone else and that I put a lot of effort into parenting her which will likely happen with homeschooling, too. Also, I've heard that the average homeschooled kid, despite their parents' level of education, performs better than the average public school student, but I still worry how well I will do, not the average homeschool teacher. Lastly, I have a masters degree, but it's not in education, so I don't think going back to school will make me more confident. Basically,

1) What do you say to people that say you can't do it b/c you're not a professional?
2) Is there a teaching book that isn't just about large classroom management that you'd suggest? Any great articles out there? I googled and searched on here and couldn't find anything other than theory that you can do it. I guess I also want some tips on 'how to teach.'

Thanks for any help with this.

Advertisement

Slave to my
TypeAMom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2013, 02:27 PM   #2
HeatherlovesCDs
Registered Users
seller

My Mood:
Re: How to Increase Confidence in Your Teaching Skills

Okay, I'm going to be bluntly honest about how to increase your confidence...just do it and keeping going forward. As your child learns and you see him (or her) learning, especially to read, your confidence will grow by leaps and bounds.