Reply Hey Mom! Learn more about the Gerber Life Insurance Grow-Up Plan!

Old 02-13-2014, 04:20 AM   #1
Terra
Drinks her not-just-a-smoothie pina coladas in ALL CAPS in front of her preschoolers before she takes her CDs and goes home.
seller

My Mood:
Public School Kindergarten in modern times...what do you think?

I don't have much time to comment because I'm headed out, but will comment on my break times.

I'm a teacher. Went from Kindergarten to Pre-K [LOVE this age].

In your opinion do you think the Kindergarten of today is too stringent and demanding of a child?

I will add more later on what I think and why I do, and why I moved to Pre-K!

Advertisement

Old 02-13-2014, 04:33 AM   #2
vatblack
Registered Users
seller

My Mood:
Re: Public School Kindergarten in modern times...what do you think?

Yes, I am not sure why kids have to read and write at ages before 7 (or rather, the year in which they turn 7). Then when they do not keep up (perhaps due to maturity problems) they are send on the "special needs" track (not truly special needs in the sense that the child is syndromic, but in the sens that they get special help). I think we'll have far fewer kids with "problems" if we waited until the year they turned 7 to start teaching formally.

That does not mean they do not get exposed to learning. Just that it isn't regulated, homeworky or assessed until that year.