Reply Hey Mom! Learn more about the Gerber Life Insurance Grow-Up Plan!

Old 08-19-2006, 10:14 PM   #1
momovthree
Registered Users
seller

Is this normal? No letdown?

I used to have a major letdown and then I'd hear my son gulping all the time when he ate. Lately if it's not a long time between feedings, it seems like I have no letdown and I can barely tell if he's swallowing a lot. He's almost a year old. Is this normal for this stage of breastfeeding or do you think I have supply issues?

I was weaning my daughters by this point so I'm unsure. I want to keep nursing him for a while so I want to make sure I have a decent supply still. What do you think?

Advertisement

momovthree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2006, 10:22 PM   #2
Prettylocks
Registered Users
seller

Re: Is this normal? No letdown?

I am no expert, but I think it is normal that your supply is a less, now that he is eating and drinking other things. If he gets sick and starts nursing all the time your supply will shoot right up again. I wouldn't worry about drying up if he is still nursing often. If you are nursing on demand, your body will keep on producing until he doesn't nurse anymore. That said, if you are stressed or taking too much caffine, you could be producing less than he wants.
Old 08-19-2006, 10:23 PM   #3
Hayley
Registered Users
seller

You know now that you mention it I never had the let down feeling but I could hear Noah gulping and I still do ( he is 13 months old )

but I also never leaked but at the very first few days home when I was sleeping.

I will be watching this thread.
Old 08-19-2006, 11:01 PM   #4
momovthree
Registered Users
seller

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cristina